Canada Day

Happy Canada Day!  We have declared it a “do nothing” day here at Chez Royea.  As you can imagine, it was difficult to get the greyhounds on board:

IMG_6454

what?! stay around the house and nap all day? really?!

.

IMG_6452

do we have to?

I worked late last night to finish a file and get it on my June invoice.  Today we have lazed about.  The weather went from disgustingly hot and humid the past few days to very cool and cloudy today.  I don’t mind.  A good day to laze around.

The other day I decided to try a recipe from my (new) bread maker for whole-wheat bread.  The recipe called for “vital wheat gluten” to be added but I a) didn’t have any; and b) saw no need for it, so I carried on without it.

loaf FAIL

"loaf" of bread?! Ha! More like "brick"

Weirdly enough, as the dough went through the kneading and rising cycles in the machine, it did rise up quite nicely.  But when it came time to bake, it fell and FAILED.

where's the paddle?!

It also consumed the kneading paddle

I kept my recipe book from my old bread maker, so I’m going to try one of the whole wheat recipes from that to see if I can get a better result.  Some of the recipes in the new one are odd.  The bread’s not too bad toasted up, but it’s very dense.

One response

Leave a comment

