A week long drought

I actually didn’t knit a single stitch for over eight days.  That is, quite frankly, unheard of and unacceptable to me.  Where we last left off:  the pink Tiny Tea Leaves cardigan had the body knit and the sleeve stitches on hold, waiting to be worked on.  In the interim, I started the green cardigan and I received sample sweaters from the intended recipients and realized that the pink one would likely be on the small size.  It might fit now, but not for long.

So I looked at the pattern again and realized that the pink size and the next size up have the same stitch count until you get to the point where you split off the stitches for the sleeves.  So I set the pink aside to be dealt with later, and I continued on with the green one, revising my plan and working for the next size bigger.  I have finished the yoke and set the sleeve stitches on hold and now am working on the body.  I should probably rip back the pink one now and get it to the same point.

I was sorting through my closet today for the painful exercise of trying on jeans to see which I am going to pack for my vacation (and, wow, I have a lot of jeans!).  I found three pairs of jeans that I had bought and forgot – tags still on, unworn.  It had been a very hot summer, so no jeans.  I also found a paper bag with four balls of sock yarn that I had bought in May, the bag had gotten tucked in the closet in a rush anticipating our cleaning girls coming and I forgot about it.  So I might just bring the new-found yarn along for vacay knitting.

The juicing is coming along.  The other night I was looking at my supplies and had a lot of fruit to use, so I made watermelon punch:

watermelon punch ingredients

pineapple, 3 oranges, 2 lemons, 1 lime, 1 kiwi, 1 small/mini watermelon

turned into this:

Watermelon punch

actually made two bottles' worth

I put it in the fridge for the next morning.  I drank one Friday morning and I drank the other this morning.  Probably stretching the freshness/tastiness a bit to have left it today, but it was still good.  The fruits gave it a bit of a pulpy texture, so that was pleasant.

IMG_6928

just give it a good shake and good to go!

I rinsed the juice extractor out, then set out my ingredients for that night’s supper juice:

IMG_6924

apple-beet-carrot

I started off following a little recipe on the reboot site, but ended up adding stuff and instead of the Apple Beet Carrot juice, I think I replicated the Juice of the Earth that I had a few nights ago.  I used apple, beets, carrots, celery, spinach.

IMG_6927

so tasty! and so filling.

I’ve tried out many recipes and I think I will stay away from kale (especially after the kale fail) and grapefruit.  I did a green grapefruit juice from that spabettie site and it was sooooo bitter.  Blech.  I’m not a fan of grapefruit to eat, so I don’t know why I thought it would be a good idea to juice.  ??

We’re heading out on vacay at the end of next week and I won’t be juicing while we’re gone (unless I come across something like a Booster Juice, etc.).  I do plan on taking my stick blender so I can keep making my banana/frozen peach/spinach smoothie that I love.

ETA – I forgot to add these two pics taken with my new lens:

IMG_6938

no need for concern, Ava, we have plenty of cookies

IMG_6937

Mr. Unflappable

2 responses

Leave a comment

