what the f-stop?!

I was messing around with my 50 mm f1.4 lens.  In these series of photos, I tried to focus consistently on Ava’s eyes.  The wider open the lens (the smaller the f-stop number), the shallower the depth of field.  Wide open lens allows more light in, so the shutter speed is quicker.  Quicker shutter speed means sharper photos.  But with the shallow depth of field only a small part of the frame will be in focus.

f1.4

f1.4

f1.6

f1.6

f1.6

1.6

f1.8

f1.8

f2.0

f2.0

f2.2

f2.2

f2.5

f2.5

f2.8

f2.8

f2.8

f2.8

Interesting comparison.  But it’s still not as beautiful a result as the best lens in the world.

We’ve had some pretty cold days/nights/wind chill here this week.  Poor Ava collapsed a couple of times in the yard because her feet were so cold she couldn’t stand on them any longer.  Carrying on the Drama! Queen! torch from our Sabrina, I guess.  So this morning when we were heading out, we put Sabrina’s little winter boots on Ava.  After a few hilarious minutes of her goose-stepping around the living room, we headed out.  I walked her around the van on the driveway a few times and she realized that her feet were toasty, so she was quite happy to wear them.  Smart dog!

ETA:  pics of Ava in her boots this morning:

Ava's boots

after her dash out into the yard

True Florida girl, she doesn’t waste any time out in the cold.  I couldn’t get a photo of her out there.  By the time I got down the deck stairs with the camera, she was coming back up, business finished!

Ava's boots

waiting (im)patiently by the Cupboard o' Plenty

She is hilarious.  When she first came to us, to reinforce her transition from crate to house training, any time she went out and did her business in the yard, when she came in she immediately got a cookie.  Then she started going to the pantry closet when Apollo went out and did business.  🙂  Then she started going and standing in front of the cupboard and whining when she has to go outside.  What a goof.  Anyway, this morning, she was not impressed that I was messing around with the camera instead of dispensing her well-deserved cookie!

.

6 responses

  1. Someone needs booties! Those are great photos – I tend to play with mine quite a bit too. I haven’t found a setting I’m completely happy with yet!

    Sam

  2. Ava is a smart girl to realize that her toes were toasty in her booties. Sorry about the snow – our turn will come soon! Lens comparisons are interesting. Subject is loveable! My old Minolta SRT 101 is rather obsolete as is my Rollei 35 (same vintage 1967/1968). Miss using my interchangeable lenses on the SRT 101. THE lens was amazing! Have a great day!

  3. I need to do more fiddling with the f-stop, too! I’m just always in such a hurry to get the pictures I want that I don’t make time to do trial and error. It’s one of my goals for my next break, now that I’ve figured a few other things out! Ava always looks beautiful, though!

Leave a comment

