now the cat’s out of the bag

and Christmas is over, I can share some of the “top secret” projects I did.  Small, but cute!

IMG_7811
the Rae scarf

This is the “Rae” scarf pattern.  I used Gourmet Sock Yarn in “berry picking”.  Rav link here.  I used 4 mm needles, and used all but 2 g of yarn. I began my decreasing after working to 71 st instead of 73 as the pattern directs.  The yarn was purchased in Vancouver when we were there in October.  Cashmere blend – yum!

IMG_7807
hmm, wonder what lens took that photo? 😉

Next up: another Noble Cowl

IMG_7706
this is Malabrigo worsted in "purple magic"

Rav page here for this one.  Same details as the one I made for myself.

IMG_7705
fairly good colour representation

With the shawl pin:

IMG_7707
so soft, too!

And I made a third one:

IMG_0822
Malabrigo worsted in "snow bird"

Rav project page here for this one.

IMG_0825
Noble Cowl

With the three cowls, I didn’t do the complete sequence of repeats because I was afraid of running out of yarn.  On the last repeat, I stopped after row 12 instead of row 14 so I would have enough yarn to do the two purl rounds and cast off. I had a couple of yards of yarn left, so not enough to have done the extra rounds.

I have turned both heels on the big fella’s socks and remembered to take a photo during the daylight today, so I’ll show that next time.

ETA:  I forgot to put a linkyloo for the guy on esty where I got the shawl pins.  I’ve got several from him in the past few years.  Nice workmanship and quality and fast delivery.  Go look:  South4th.