black and blue, with a soupçon of chartreuse

Last night was my tenth derby practice.  I think things are starting to click.  My quads don’t scream so much when I get up from falls, my ankle is not as sore (from the leather boot of my skate breaking in).  My right arm bruise is just a little bit of green along the underside of my elbow/forearm now.  I think I will always be sporting bruises of some sort.  But I feel more controlled when I’m moving on my skates, and even when I’m falling.

ETA – I guess I only posted this pic on Facebook, not here:

about mid-way through the bruising process

We did some “dry-land” quad exercises last night before we put our skates on, then for something different, we did one of our longer drills going the wrong way, i.e. clockwise, instead of counterclockwise.  I got to work on my cross-overs going that way, which are shaky.  Felt good!

Since I finished the FrankenSocks, I started some legwarmers:

legwarmers!

Crazy Zauberball and Regia Concerto

I was looking at my yarn and couldn’t find the right colour/fibre combination. So I decided to use two strands of superwash sock yarn (washable and with the nylon, durable).  I’m using 3.5 mm needles and have cast on 72 stitches.  I’m basically knitting a tube, 2×2 rib.  I don’t think I’ll go with a full length legwarmer because I have knee high socks to wear over my fishnets, but just something to cover the tops of my skates so they don’t get so scuffed up.

And yes, my poor West Coast Sunset socks are still languishing:

IMG_8037

poor things

Although I do have one to the heel flap point, and the second one nearly so.

p.s. If you haven’t already done so, please vote in my derby name poll in the last post.  Thx.

Leave a comment

