one leg will be warm

I finished my first derby leg warmer the other night:

legwarmer

exactly what I wanted!

It occurred to me when I was putting on one of my FOUR fabulous pairs of derby knee highs that Ande sent me, that this pair will likely say “itch” by the time I get my knee pads on! 🙂

Did I blog about these?  My wonderful Ande sent me a fab package from Sock Dreams:

"three things you need to know about" Terri O'Scary

I haven’t woven the ends in yet, but I wanted to see how it was for length and drape.  I cast on 72 stitches on 3.5 mm needles using two strands of sock yarn.  I simply did a 2×2 rib for 10 inches then cast off.  These serve a practical purpose as well, to protect the leather boot of the skate from scuffing and scrapes (of which I already have many!).

legwarmer

need to re-tape those toes!

I cast on last night for the second leg warmer, but had to redo it (I guess by Friday night I no longer have the ability to count). So it’s two rounds in right now! I’ve been spending the afternoon/evening doing a ton of little things I had meant to do all week, but just absolutely had no time.  If I get them done, then I’ll settle in for some quality knitting time!

Leave a comment

