He’s with his sister now

I’m very sad to say that we lost Apollo on Saturday.  He was almost 12.

I was away for the weekend at roller derby boot camp. The big fella had the poopers with him doing our usual Saturday errands. This includes a visit to the pet store for cookies and pets, a walk in the sketchy park with all its intriguing smells and sights, and a visit at my mom and dad’s.

Apollo had given his usual “gallump” around their back yard when his hind legs slipped out and he stumbled. He collapsed and the big fella rushed to his side. He had time to cradle him in his lap and hold his head as Apollo’s heart simply gave out.

The big fella decided to not tell me until I returned home Sunday night. I am absolutely devastated and have spent the time since then alternating from disbelief to shock to intense sorrow.  My big, beautiful white-haired gentleman from Colorado is gone. 😦

I love this photo of them, taken on Sabrina’s last holiday:

Apollo and Sabrina_5124

sniffing the fresh ocean breeze

Lately, I had been working on a greyhound hat for the upcoming picnic:

IMG_0271

a quick size check before I wove in the ends

Such a  big goofball.  and the side view:

IMG_0273

I hadn’t put the pompon on the hat yet.

and the last photo I took of him:

IMG_0277

whatever you want, momma.

Ava has been lost without him.  She has wandered around the house looking for him.  She will sit up and whine, so I go and hug her and scritch her belly and tell her it’s okay.  Poor wee girl.

My dear Ande on Friday had to say goodbye to her Sarah after a long, wonderful life of 13 years.  I was crying over that loss Friday night and feeling so bad for her and Jim.  I like to think that Apollo and Sarah met at the bridge, then raced over to find Sabrina and Monk and they four of them are rooing it up (and in Sabrina’s case, chasing Monk).

Auntie Ande's house!

Apollo and Sarah liked to hang out together

That was from our vacation in 2010.  That’s Sabrina’s little paw in the forefront beside me on the couch.

I’m still raw.  We went to derby practice last night and I got really teary eyed a few times.  It was good to work out and think of something other than Apollo, but once we were done, the sorrow returned.

You ran a good race, my handsome boy.  Kid’s Apollo, 8 December 2000 – 1 September 2012.

 

31 responses

  1. I am so sorry for your loss. It’s like loosing a part of your heart, isn’t it? Since I have no children, all my family is “4-legged”, and so much a part of my life. They wiggle their way into your heart, and never seem to leave. The loss does get easier with time. Hang on!

  2. Oh Terri, I’m so sorry. I know how much it hurts. I lost my girl of 15 a few months ago and I’m still raw. I’m so glad Apollo was out having fun up to the last minute and had the big fella right there to say good-bye. Give Ava extra scritches from all of us.

  3. Oh Terri, I am so very sorry to hear about Apollo. I was just talking to a couple last night (on the walking trail) with their 2 Greys about Apollo and Ava and Ande’s two. At least Apollo wasn’t alone and Bill was there with him. Two Greys at once is just too sad. Hugs.

  4. That big boy was one of my favorite greyhounds and Ava sounds that she really misses him as well. I would make a card but I just have to write it here. I hear you. I miss my kitty. *hugs her kitty-sister and sobs* Hug Ava and I hope your tears will drain.

  5. I am so terribly sorry! I always hope that mine will pass quickly and quietly so that I don’t have to make that awful decision, but it hurts to lose them no matter how they go. Please know that we’re thinking of you and your family right now!

  6. I read this with tears in my eyes.

    Since years – since I adopted my own Spanish greyhounds – I look what´s new about Apollo and Ava (and earlier, Sabrina)

    I´m so sorry for you.

  7. I’m so sorry, T. It’s sooooo good loving them while they are here but so very painful losing them. Passing in your dh’s arms had to lessen Apollo’s suffering. Good dog. Good dog.

  8. I am so sorry to hear of your loss. I just feel sick to my stomach. The fact that your heart is broken speaks to the fact that you were wonderful parents. No animal could have asked for more. It doesn’t make the hurt any less but you know Apollo had the best life anyone could have. We lost our german shepherd, Houston, almost 3 years ago and my husband still can’t bring himself to opening his heart to another. I think of it this way, we love our animals, we treat them well (like gold), and if there is another animal out there that could benefit from our love and attention, I want to give them that love and attention. I feel heartbroken for you and yours including Ava – it must be difficult for her. I so enjoyed the pictures and stories of Sabrina and Apollo – I miss them.

  9. I’m so terribly sorry to hear of Apollo’s passing. Big firm strong hugs and love to you, the hubby and Ava. It’s so hard to lose a loved one from the family. I’ve enjoyed reading of Apollo’s, Sabrina’s and Ava’s escapades so much. My heart just aches for you all. I will be keeping you all in my thoughts and prayers.

  10. Oh Terri, I am so sorry to hear that Apollo crossed the rainbow bridge. You were both so lucky to have each other. As another dog lover I can completely understand the loss and yet grateful feeling of being blessed with having him.
    Wendy

  11. I’m so sorry to see that you lost Apollo and for the pain you’re feeling without him. I often think about the funny video you posted of him doing the “Boom Boom” walk when you were rubbing his back. He was a sweet boy.

  12. Terri, I have been away for a few weeks and havn’t had time to check blogs. now its 6am and I had an ‘Ava and Apollo’ photo fix….I am truly crying now and my Daschund is giving me the confused look. Be proud that you gave him the life he had with you and that in every photo he is a happy dog. SSA

  13. Aw…. Terry I’m so sorry for your loss. I loved reading about Apollo and the girls. I’m so glad the greyhounds lived their last years in comfort as spoiled house pets with you and your fella. Thinking of you. Paula and little Robin.

Leave a comment

