Actual knitting and baking content!

In an effort to slow things down (stop this ride, I want off!!) I’ve been trying to schedule some time for things I enjoy.  So on Saturday I did some baking to take to a derby meeting Sunday noon.

brownies

S’mores Brownies

This recipe was in one of my new cookbooks, but it’s also here online.  The recipe said to use 12 jumbo marshmallows, but I used 16.  Because I’m fancy like that.

smores brownies

they have graham cracker chunks in the batter.

And I finally finished these socks that I started some six months ago:

IMG_0366

striped socks using KnitPicks Chroma and Sisu in black

They survived a few car trips as well as Rufus’ dragging the yarn all over.

IMG_0368

love it! So soft and colourful!

Speaking of Rufie and Ava, they continue to get along fabulously:

rufie and ava

we could get a bigger bed, Rufie says

We have had a few cooler mornings lately.  Time for snuggling in the fleece blankets.

IMG_0364

Yes?

~

IMG_0360

my bum is cold

It’s too soon to bring out the electric blankets.  I think Mr. Alabama is going to be in for a bit of a shock when it is really winter.

IMG_0357

feet

Last week I had seen on one of my derby friend’s Facebook pages that she had her hair cut into a pixie.  I had mentioned I should cut mine again.  And the resounding opinion presented to me by almost everyone was “yes, you should!”.  Like my curly hair is hideous …

2012-10-01 15.04.12

before, front view

I was doing nothing for hair styling other than using the diffuser to dry it.  I have had it cut several times, but just to bring the back up so the sides/bangs could catch up and it would be all one length.

2012-10-01 15.03.41

before, back view

So I had to wait a few days to get an appointment with my stylist, but on Monday:

2012-10-01 17.21.30

ah, so much better!

The bonus is the 2.5 hours a week I spend drying my hair.  Now it’s wash and go.  And it’s only hair.  I can grow it again.  But it’s a nice change.

I have sat down and devised a schedule to allocate time to read, knit, cook and bake – as well as meet my contractual obligations for work, my derby commitments, etc.  I just completed my contract and have renewed it, so I decided since that part of my life wasn’t going to slow down, I had to be smarter about how I spent my limited free time.  We’ll see how it goes!

As we don’t have derby on Wednesday nights, I had planned to make this mac and cheese casserole.  Pretty quick and easy, and very tasty! (Just remember that the flour amount should be 2.5 TABLEspoons.  And make sure you let it stand at least 10 minutes once you take it out of the oven.)

Next on the knitting schedule, the socks I’d started a year ago on my vacation.  ??  Vacation?  What’s that?  I am going to “not work” next week, but will still have to monitor emails and put out any fires, especially since my boss will be out of country for a while.

 

6 responses

  1. Yum, yum, yum, yum, um, gorgeous, yum, yum, yum, yum… 😉

    My favorite is the picture of Ava & Rufus on the bed together, followed closely by the baked goods and your new haircut. I really like it– I like you with curls too, but the short hair makes a nice bold change of sassy time-saviness, practicality, and raw confident sexuality with a soupçon of menopausal hot flash-preparedness.

  2. I like your curls, but I am biased being a curly girl myself. The short hair really suits you too, I would never be brave enough to get mine cut.
    And I love the Rufie cold bum picture, he looks like he’s telling you to sort it out.

  3. love your hair! you’re so lucky to get away with that style. Very cute. And also lucky the poopers get along. Mine are not and it’s stressing me out. love those socks!!

Leave a comment

