the ER will not stop us from going to Denny’s

LOL, not me, but my friend.  Friday night we headed down to Saskatoon to meet up with some of the Saskatoon Roller Derby League girls for an evening skate.

skating on the river path

skating on the river path

Rock’m Schock’m took a nasty spill so we had a slight detour to the ER for an x-ray, just to make sure nothing was broken.  Like a trooper, she insisted we still go to Denny’s after!  We worked up an appetite with the skating and then 2+ hours in the ER.  (Denny’s is our post-derby tradition.)

I finished that little granny square hat.  The sewing together took me a couple of evenings.  I wasn’t as precise as I could have been, so if I was going to make it again, I’d pay more attention to that.  The pattern calls for the squares to be whipstitched together.  I tried that, but it didn’t look like a nice join.  So instead I slip-stitched them together and that made a nicer join.

Tesselations Hat

Ravelry project page is here. I used Regia Goal sock yarn.  The colourway was a little too short or too long because most of the squares had only a small bit of the second colour.

Chopper is settling in nicely.  He is slowly learning that he doesn’t have to wake us up at 6 a.m. every day.  He walks well and gets along with Ava and Rufie.  He really likes Ava and follows her around the house to lay next to her.

Herrooo? Are you awake?!

Is this spot taken?

Once I’d finished the hat, I didn’t have time to work on anything for a few evenings.  I started working on a cotton market bag.  

I love the colour of this yarn!

The pattern is “Rust Goes Green Market Bag” and it’s a lot of fun to work on!

I also picked up my Maeve shrug last night to knit on for a while.  Am soooo looking forward to the increase in knitting/crochet time once I’m retired.

The weather these past few days has cooled down delightfully.  No more a/c required in the house; we can have the windows open to the fresh air and breezes.  Counting down the days until the start of our holidays.

2 responses

Leave a comment

