Well, we made it back home!

Three weeks of being on the road, and there’s nothing so nice as to sleep in one’s own (king sized) bed.

20141013_100802

finally, Ava says, I’m being treated as the Queen I am.

We left Vancouver Island and hopped on one of the new ferries (Coastal Renaissance) back to Vancouver.

We were on the lower deck

We were on the lower deck; like we were in a shipping container!

It had a great gift shop, though – found a fabulous Fall coat!

20141006_132944

Steveston, south of Richmond. Cute little village – historic for fishing, canning factories.

We got to spend some quality time with Ande; had a great supper our first night at Jackalope’s.  The brisket was unbelievable.

selfie time!

selfie time!

She and I had a fun girls’ day on Saturday.  We hit up John Fluevog store, of course.  Our favourite Fluevogologist Allan was ever so helpful.  At my count we tried on 18 or so pairs of shoes/boots.  Three pairs came home with me.

These are amazingly cute and comfy demi-boots, the Alana.

These are amazingly cute and comfy demi-boots, the Alana.  I bought skinny jeans to wear with them.

The other two pairs were another pair of demi-boots, but with a finer/dressier heel, and a cute pair of lace up flats.  We had Five Guys for lunch, then more shopping, more eating.  It was fabulous.  I’m sorry we don’t live closer together.

Chopper finally figured out how to relax on this, his first vacation.

Chopper finally figured out how to relax on this, his first vacation.

We spent three nights in Kelowna visiting the boys (I didn’t take any photos, but I think Bill has some on his phone – I’ll check tomorrow).  I did do some work on my vacation, but only to make sure I didn’t drown under the onslaught of email upon my return.

By that time, we were all ready to head home:

20141010_102056

one more night until we sleep in our own bed!

.

20141011_171339

Rufie does his “Joey Tribiani” impression. “how YOU doin’?!”

And in the three weeks we were gone, I only knit a very little bit.  The weather was great, so we did lots of walking and exploring in the van.  I went to some favourite yarn stores and stocked up on sock yarn and some yarns for a few sweaters I’d like to make over the winter.

So now it’s back to work until October 31.  I went back to Crossfit last night, then did derby skating for two hours.  And went back to Crossfit this evening.  My quads are so sore.  Having a complete break from everything for three weeks was great, but coming back is a little painful.

2 responses

Leave a comment

