It’s cold

We’ve had some “normal” or seasonal temperatures the past week or so.  Cold then some days/nights with added wind chill.  It doesn’t make one eager to go outside one bit.  The poopers are not complaining too much about not getting long walks.

Ava waits for her jammies to be washed

.

and Chopper contemplates moving back to Florida

Rufie couldn’t be bothered to move for a photo.

I came across a pattern for a “cat nest” on Pinterest.  I wanted to try it.  A girl I know from Crossfit has a Sphynx (hairless cat) and was saying how he is always burrowing under and into things to sleep.  So I gave it a try.  Ravelry project page here.

cat nest!

He’s still figuring it out:

cat next

I had some bulky weight yarn I had bought before Christmas, but was going to run out.  So I went to Michaels to see if I could find some more.  While I was there, I saw this bulky yarn and bought it.  Then I had to find a pattern to use it with.

The Vermonter hat

It was a quick and easy knit, but the bulky yarn and 8 mm needles were hard on my hands.  I think I need to redo the pompon as it’s quite wonky.  Ravelry project page here.

I’ve been working on a sweater for myself.  Tin Can Knits Flax sweater.  I was working on it for a while, then checked my gauge.  I had dropped down my usual one needle size but needed to check row gauge.  The stitch gauge is close enough that I can adjust as needed with adding increases, but the row gauge was off.  So I had to add a few extra rounds to get the arm scye deep enough.  I think it will be okay – the rest of the sweater is “knit XX inches” not XX rounds, so I can adjust as needed.

I’ve been working on clearing out my office and reinstating it as my yarn room.  Almost done!  I just have a small filing cabinet to go through.  We’ve been busy going to Crossfit and getting ready for derby to start up again.  We’re running another “learn to skate” program for the next six weeks until derby season is in full swing.  That should be fun!

And we’ve been using the library a lot for books and dvds.  I have some interesting books on night photography that I want to finish reading, then go and try some new night shots.  But when it warms up a bit.

Onion domes!

(That was taken with my phone’s camera.  Will do some more with my dSLR.)

Time to knit!

 

2 responses

Leave a comment

