Stress knitting

It’s been a busy and somewhat stressful couple of weeks.  Luckily I had my knitting to keep me sane!

I finished these socks:

20150212_150005

Sweet Georgia Yarns “Cashluxe” socks

One of my Crossfit coaches is embarking on an epic journey – travelling to New Zealand and competing in the Ironman!  Epic!  I appreciate all she does for us at Crossfit and she’s a fantastic coach, so I wanted to give her a little something for her trip.  The yarn is gorgeous – 70% Merino, 20% Cashmere and 10% Nylon.  Very soft and lovely.

I have a couple more skeins of this yarn in different colourways that I was thinking of using for a shawlette/scarf, but I might just make myself some socks!

We had a big decision that we had to make for our derby league.  Since September we had very low numbers and over the past 18 months or so we had lost players along the way – some moved, some had babies, some had other interests taking their free time.  Completely understandable, as people’s priorities and interests change.  However, we had to make a decision at our year end – we were operating at a loss for several months.

So it was voted at the meeting to dissolve the league and those still active and interested decided to join the other league in our town.  There was a significant amount of stress during all of this, and many details to oversee and attend to.  For the time being, my fellow ref and I are unaffiliated and don’t belong to any league now.  😦

As a board member for the past three years it was bittersweet.  We had put all of our hearts into trying to grow the league and drum up recruitment and interest, we couldn’t do anything more.  We were sad to let it go.

However, that now frees up some time.  I want to devote more time to my photography and get back to practicing my guitar again.  And of course more time for Crossfit and knitting.  But not at the same time. Ha!

We had a nice treat last week.  We used some airmiles and had Ken fly in for three days.  Always great seeing him and it was nice to just relax and spend time together and not be dashing about everywhere.

Bill and Ken

Bill and Ken

Leave a comment

