Good Eats

I’ve tried a couple of new recipes lately.  One I made twice, it was so good.

First was the Spaghetti Squash Taco Bake.  I either printed this off and/or put it on my Pinterest board, but when I went to find the link, it came up dead.  I found it on the Internet Archive.  I’m posting it here, too, in case the link goes bad.

sooo delicious!

sooo delicious!

Spaghetti Squash Taco Casserole
Ingredients:

  • 1 large spaghetti squash
  • 1 lb lean turkey meat, browned
  • 1 packet taco seasoning (see seasoning mix below)
  • 1 – 1 1/2 cup sugar-free salsa
  • 1/2 red onion, chopped
  • 1 can black beans
  • 3 Roma tomatoes, diced
  • 3 eggs, whisked
  • Salt & pepper to taste
Instructions:
  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Cut spaghetti squash in half lengthwise, face cut sides down onto a baking dish and bake for 35 minutes.
  3. While squash is cooking, brown your turkey meat, add taco seasoning, allow to simmer for 10 minutes and then set aside.
  4. Once squash is finished cooking, using a fork, scrape out the insides of your squash to make your “noodles”. Place noodles in a 9×13 baking dish.
  5. Reduce oven to 350 degrees.
  6. In baking dish, add taco meat, salsa, onion, black beans, tomatoes, salt & pepper. Mix well.
  7. Next, add in whisked eggs and mix everything together.
  8. Bake in the oven for 45 minutes to 1 hour, until you begin to see a thin crust forming on the top.
  9. Allow to cool off for 5 minutes.
  10. Top with fresh guacamole or diced avocado and enjoy!

Taco Mix:

  • 2 tsp. chili powder
  • 1 ½  tsp. paprika
  • 1 tsp. onion powder
  • 1/2 tsp. unrefined sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp. oregano
  • cayenne pepper to taste
  • freshly ground black pepper to taste

Okay – what I did differently:  I used lean ground beef, not turkey.  The first time I made this, I almost burned my fingers off trying to shred the spaghetti squash.  I had all the other ingredients ready.  The second time I baked the squash, let it cool for about 20 minutes, then shredded it all into a big mixing bowl.  THEN I continued with the preparation, browning the meat, cutting up the vegetables, etc.  Also, it baked for about an hour, then I popped it under the broiler for a few minutes to crisp up the top.  The second time I made it, I had more squash strands to meat ratio, so it was not as meaty, but still very delicious.

The other recipe I tried (and will make again) was a simple chicken and vegetable stew in the slow cooker.

chicken and fall vegetable stew

chicken and fall vegetable stew

The recipe is here.  I used boneless/skinless chicken thighs and they were very tender and flavourful.  I didn’t initially add any chicken broth, but after an hour or so, I added about a half-cup.  By the end of the cooking time (8 hours on low) there was a fair amount of liquid.  So I added some arrowroot flour/powder to thicken it up a bit.  So good!

I have some very ripe bananas that I am searching Pinterest for (grain free) recipes to use them up.  Will post here if I come across anything spectacular.

Leave a comment

