That’s a wrap.

Yesterday we had a triple-header roller derby event.  It was the end of season for the senior Saskatoon Roller Derby League.  First was the juniors playing the Swift Current team.  I head-reffed that one.  Then we had the Saskatoon Mindfox (A level team) playing a men’s team from Edmonton.  That was fast and furious.  I was kept busy on the inside!  A very fast paced, hard hitting game.  I will be very interested to watch these two on tv to get a better sense of the game.  It’s interesting to see the big picture instead of focusing on which particular duties one has in a particular ref position.

checking out the track before the juniors game

checking out the track before the juniors game

The third game we were fully staffed, so I got to “watch” it as a spectator.  Well, having reffed for three and a half seasons, I can’t really just watch a game now.  I’m always analysing, thinking, strategizing.

zebra huddle from afar

zebra huddle from afar

 

I don't even know who to cheer for.

I don’t even know who to cheer for.

I feel pretty tired and worn out today.  I had a busy week (seven Crossfit classes from Mon to Fri) and we had junior derby last Sunday afternoon, so that was another trip to Saskatoon.

early morning crossfit endurance class

early morning crossfit endurance class

from which I returned at 7 a.m. and was greeted with:

a brindle burrito bundle

a brindle burrito bundle

(Side note:  I spent upwards of three hours a few days ago mending all the tears in the two quilts that the dogs love.  Chopper is a big nester and had ripped a bunch of seams in them.)

And lastly, I had some very ripe bananas and found a few recipes to try.  This one I will definitely make again – however, I might try a workaround for the coconut oil.  The muffins were sort of greasy/oily because of it.  Not in the taste or texture, just that the bottoms of the cupcake liners were oily.

breakfast muffins

breakfast muffins

I also reduced the amount of honey because I don’t like things to be super sweet.

end-of-season Ref Face

end-of-season Ref Face

So now we have a rec league scrimmage coming up on Dec 11th, then juniors again on Dec 13th.  And then I can hang my skates up for a month or so.

Leave a comment

