Something different

I made another “easy peasy woman’s winter hat” the other day.  I saw these two colours of Woolspun at Michael’s and they were on sale.

Lion Brand Woolspun hat

Ravelry project page is here.  I took extra care doing the round joins and colour changes and I think it turned out really nice.  The flower took me a couple of tries, but I’m happy with how it turned out as well.  The flower instructions are here.

For Bill’s Christmas gift, I decided to make him an afghan.  He’s always cold when we’re on the couch watching tv.  And he’s impossible to buy gifts for – he doesn’t have any hobbies, doesn’t read a lot, etc.  So it’s usually clothes.  I got him a bunch of gym clothes for his birthday last week.

I didn’t start the afghan because he’d be sitting right next to me and know what I was doing, so I boxed up one ball of each yarn and the pattern and gave him that to open.

Easy Ripple Afghan

I had started this on Christmas night and navy blue was one of the colours.  I also started with a different pattern (the Cascade afghan, which I do want to try, but not starting with navy, and not when I want to get it done in a hurry).  I swapped out the navy and had some dark charcoal which I will use at the end of the colour rotation.  There are some really striking colour combinations on the Ravelry page.

Another pattern I came across is this “neat ripple” pattern.  I love all the different colour variations.  It’s written in British crochet terms, so I’d have to sit down and figure out the North American equivalents.

helpy

The boys are always available to clean out the yogurt tubs before they go in the recycling.

I made a Boxing Day supper for us last night: smoked spiral ham, steamed broccoli and this sweet potato casserole:

delicious!

I prefer the white-fleshed sweet potatoes, but there were none to be had.  The recipe calls for maple syrup in the mash; I dislike savory dishes being made too sweet, so I eliminated that.  And I used ALL the bacon for the topping.  It tasted lovely – a hint of sweetness from the potatoes and the coconut palm sugar in the topping, and salty/smokiness from the bacon.  And I made the raw chocolate pudding for dessert.

ruff life

 

Leave a comment

