Octopus Socks

I’ve been really busy at the gym the past month or so.  I’m glad when our strength cycle will be complete; that’s two extra classes a week.

After I finished the sparkle socks, I started a crochet hat until I decided what my next project would be.  I came across a pattern for stranded two colour socks, and I dug through my yarn stash and had two great colours that would look good for the pattern, so I cast on.

"Pet Octopus" socks

“Pet Octopus” socks

The pattern came with two sizes, a 72 stitch cast on and a 64 stitch cast on.  Due to the length of the leg, I started with the 72 stitches to accommodate my calf.  Then after the waves, I decreased down to 64 stitches.  It’s a little snug mid leg, but it fits perfectly around my ankle.

My stranding made the gauge a little tighter, so I’m consciously leaving loose floats and I think I can steam block the tight part so it fits better.

I have the second sock midway to the heel flap point.  Yarn and pattern details are on the Ravelry project page here.

I’m taking my time and not rushing.  Working from a chart, I pause every few stitches to count and make sure I’m not messing it up.

 

2 responses

  1. This pattern has been in my Ravelry queue for ages! It looks fantastic. Is it easy enough to switch between the 72 and 64 stitch sizes? I worry I’ll be between sizes like you.

    • I know my “usual” sock gauge works to 68 or 64 stitches cast on. I have made some with a 72 stitch cast on because I made the leg longer. On those socks, I would do a decrease round (dec 4 stitches evenly) twice with an inch or so of knitting in between. The issue with these was working the decreases without disrupting the pattern, so I did paired decreases at the back of sock “seam”. It worked out okay, I think.

Leave a comment

